News / Events

19th Annual SPADA Industry Award Winners Announced

Winners of three prestigious annual SPADA (Screen Production and Development Association) Awards were announced at the SPADA Conference in Wellington on Thursday 24 November. 

SPADA New Filmmaker of the Year went to director, writer and producer Yamin Tun.  Yamin won a scholarship prize in the 48 hour film competition to study film at Unitec. Since 2012, she has made three short films with Wait, winning the Best Short Film at the 2016 New Zealand International Film Festival. Yamin has three feature films in development.

She has been shortlisted for the Sundance Screenwriters Lab. This award honours emerging filmmakers who have displayed excellence, special talent and creativity in their filmmaking.

As Principal Sponsor of the Award, Park Road Post Production will provide Yamin with post-production services worth $20,000.

Carthew Neal, producer of Taika Waititi’s critically-acclaimed and box-office hit comedy Hunt for the Wilderpeople, won the SPADA Independent Producer of the Year sponsored by Crombie Lockwood. He is also producer of David Farrier and Dylan’s Reeves documentary Tickled, another national and international critical and box office success. Carthew has produced television documentaries and comedies, and was an associate producer working with producers Barrie Osbourne and Jim Whitaker on Disney’s, made in Wellington, Pete’s Dragon.

Gaylene Preston was awarded SPADA / Data Book / SCREENZ Industry Champion for her significant lifetime commitment to New Zealand film and television.

In a career spanning almost 40 years as a director, writer and producer Gaylene has made major film and television productions encompassing most genres. Her feature films include Mr. Wrong (1984), Ruby and Rata (1990), Bread & Roses (1994), Perfect Strangers (2003) and Home by Christmas (2010). Gaylene’s many documentaries include War Stories (1995) and Strongman: The Tragedy (2012). She is currently working on My Year with Helen, a film about Helen Clark due for release next year. Recent television work includes the mini-series, Hope and Wire.

Gaylene has served on most industry boards including the New Zealand Film Commission, New Zealand On Air, and has chaired Creative New Zealand's Film Innovation Fund and the New Zealand Film and Television Awards Society. She has received many honours including the NZ Arts Foundation filmmaker Laureate, an Officer of the NZ Order of Merit and the Women in Film and Television (WIFT) Lifetime achievement award. Her involvement in the New Zealand film community since working with John O’Shea’s Pacific Films, has seen her collaborate with some of New Zealand’s most celebrated film makers including cinematographers Waka Attewell and Alun Bollinger, director Geoff Murphy, producer Robin Laing, writer Graeme Tetley, and actor Sam Neill.  

For more information on the SPADA Conference:

IMAGE: WELLINGTON, NEW ZEALAND - NOVEMBER 24: Gaylene Preston speaks after receiving the 2016 Industry Champion Award from Robin Laing during the SPADA conference at Mac's Function Centre on November 24, 2016 in Wellington, New Zealand. (Photo by Hagen Hopkins/Getty Images).